Holidays in India in 2018 |Officail HolidayComprehensive list of National and Regional Public Holidays that are celebrated in India during 2018 with dates and information on the origin and meaning of holidays.

Date Weekday Holiday Name Holiday Type
Jan 1 Monday New Year’s Day Restricted Holiday
Jan 5 Friday Guru Govind Singh Jayanti Restricted Holiday
Jan 14 Sunday Pongal Restricted Holiday
Jan 14 Sunday Makar Sankranti Restricted Holiday
Jan 22 Monday Vasant Panchami Restricted Holiday
Jan 26 Friday Republic Day Gazetted Holiday
Jan 31 Wednesday Guru Ravidas Jayanti Restricted Holiday
Feb 10 Saturday Maharishi Dayanand Saraswati Jayanti Restricted Holiday
Feb 13 Tuesday Maha Shivaratri/Shivaratri Gazetted Holiday
Feb 14 Wednesday Valentine’s Day Observance
Feb 16 Friday Chinese New Year Observance
Feb 19 Monday Shivaji Jayanti Restricted Holiday
Mar 1 Thursday Holika Dahana Restricted Holiday
Mar 2 Friday Holi Restricted Holiday
Mar 18 Sunday Chaitra Sukhladi Restricted Holiday
Mar 20 Tuesday March equinox Season
Mar 25 Sunday Rama Navami Gazetted Holiday
Mar 29 Thursday Maundy Thursday Observance, Christian
Mar 29 Thursday Mahavir Jayanti Gazetted Holiday
Mar 30 Friday Good Friday Gazetted Holiday
Mar 31 Saturday First day of Passover Observance
Apr 1 Sunday Hazarat Ali’s Birthday Restricted Holiday
Apr 1 Sunday Easter Day Restricted Holiday
Apr 14 Saturday Vaisakhi Restricted Holiday
Apr 14 Saturday Ambedkar Jayanti Observance
Apr 15 Sunday Mesadi/Vaisakhadi Restricted Holiday
Apr 30 Monday Buddha Purnima/Vesak Gazetted Holiday
May 1 Tuesday May Day Observance
May 9 Wednesday Birthday of Ravindranath Restricted Holiday
May 13 Sunday Mother’s Day Observance
Jun 15 Friday Ramzan Id/Eid-ul-Fitar Muslim, Common Local holidays
Jun 15 Friday Jamat Ul-Vida Restricted Holiday
Jun 17 Sunday Father’s Day Observance
Jun 21 Thursday June Solstice Season
Jul 14 Saturday Rath Yatra Restricted Holiday
Aug 5 Sunday Friendship Day Observance
Aug 15 Wednesday Independence Day Gazetted Holiday
Aug 17 Friday Parsi New Year Restricted Holiday
Aug 22 Wednesday Bakr Id/Eid ul-Adha Gazetted Holiday
Aug 25 Saturday Onam Restricted Holiday
Aug 26 Sunday Raksha Bandhan (Rakhi) Restricted Holiday
Sep 3 Monday Janmashtami Gazetted Holiday
Sep 13 Thursday Ganesh Chaturthi/Vinayaka Chaturthi Restricted Holiday
Sep 21 Friday Muharram/Ashura Gazetted Holiday
Sep 23 Sunday September equinox Season
Oct 2 Tuesday Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti Gazetted Holiday
Oct 16 Tuesday Maha Saptami Restricted Holiday
Oct 17 Wednesday Maha Navami Restricted Holiday
Oct 17 Wednesday Maha Ashtami Restricted Holiday
Oct 19 Friday Dussehra (Maha Navami) Gazetted Holiday
Oct 24 Wednesday Maharishi Valmiki Jayanti Restricted Holiday
Oct 27 Saturday Karaka Chaturthi (Karva Chauth) Restricted Holiday
Oct 31 Wednesday Halloween Observance
Nov 6 Tuesday Naraka Chaturdasi Restricted Holiday
Nov 7 Wednesday Diwali/Deepavali Gazetted Holiday
Nov 8 Thursday Govardhan Puja Restricted Holiday
Nov 9 Friday Bhai Duj Restricted Holiday
Nov 13 Tuesday Chhat Puja (Pratihar Sashthi/Surya Sashthi) Restricted Holiday
Nov 21 Wednesday Milad un-Nabi/Id-e-Milad Gazetted Holiday
Nov 23 Friday Guru Nanak Jayanti Gazetted Holiday
Nov 24 Saturday Guru Tegh Bahadur’s Martyrdom Day Restricted Holiday
Dec 3 Monday First Day of Hanukkah Observance
Dec 10 Monday Last day of Hanukkah Observance
Dec 21 Friday December Solstice Season
Dec 24 Monday Christmas Eve Restricted Holiday
Dec 25 Tuesday Christmas Gazetted Holiday
Dec 31 Monday New Year’s Eve Observance